What Are The Seven Sacraments Of The Catholic Church?

What Are The Seven Sacraments Of The Catholic Church

Admit it, you wondering there’s so much to learn about the Catholic Church. Well the more you learn the better you’ll be prepared for the Journey. Learning about the seven sacraments helps you celebrate them to the fullest.

What is a sacrament?

A sacrament in Christianity is considered as a sign by Christ to give grace to his people. It’s the belief of Christians that the sacraments simply do what they say they do. These sacraments point towards something beyond them, something greater than them. It points to what is sacred

They point towards God and his grace. Jesus Christ himself is considered as a sacrament as he sacrificed himself for mankind. The humanity of Jesus Christ is his spirituality and because of this humanity the trinity comes towards us through the sacred sacraments. Only he and he alone allow the grace to come to mankind.

There are seven sacraments of a catholic church

  1. Baptism
  2. Eucharist
  3. Confirmation
  4. Marriage
  5. Anointing of the sick
  6. Holy orders
  7. Reconciliation

So what are all these seven sacraments?

  1. Baptism:

Baptism is considered as the very first of the seven sacraments. Let’s say it is considered as a door to the other sacraments. It is believed that when a person is baptized God enters in the human soul. The process of baptism is very easy. The priest pours water over the head of the person, who is being baptized and says,

“I baptize you in the Name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.”

  1. Eucharist:

In the process of Eucharist the partaker is said to receive the blood, body and soul through bread and wine in the human world. The bread and wine are consecrated and the priest repeats the words of Jesus,

‘This is My Body’ and ‘This is the chalice of My Blood.’

  1. Confirmation:

This process is said to make a person witness to Christ and then lead a responsible Christian life. In this ritual the person is anointed with chrism which is the holy oil and these words are said,

“Be sealed with the gift of the Holy Spirit.”

  1. Reconciliation:

Reconciliation is basically the confession. In this a catholic asks for forgiveness from God by confessing his sins to a priest. The priciest is considered as a bridge between the person and Jesus Christ and it is considered that all sins of the person are forgiven with these words of absolution.

“I absolve you of your sins in the Name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit.”

  1. Anointing of the sick:

This sacrament is said to provide comfort to all the sick through the grace of God. It provides spiritual and sometimes physical healing as well. The ritual involves anointing with oil of the sick and prayer

  1. Marriage:

Also known as matrimony binds together a man and a woman for life. They both mutually give their consent to enter the marriage and the God gives them both his

Grace to fulfill their vows.

  1. Holy orders:

In holy orders the chosen or men who want to spend their life in service of the church are appointed as priests, bishops and deacons.

Adult wanting to become catholic, will first go through the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA). This includes the celebration of the sacraments of baptism, confirmation and Eucharist, but also all of the rites of the catechumenate. It’s all about obeying the Holy Spirit more faithfully. These seven sacraments allow the people to have faith and live a peaceful life.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here